What’s trending: National Book Awards 2019

Check out the 2019 National Book Awards winners and our read-alike titles, suggested by Oak Park’s fantastically well-read librarians! The National Book Awards were established in 1950 to celebrate the best writing in America. Learn more about how the awards work from the National Book Foundation »

Fiction winner

Trust Exercise by Susan Choi & read-alikes

Nonfiction winner

The Yellow House by Sarah M. Broom & read-alikes

Poetry winner

Sight Lines by Arthur Sze & read-alikes

Translated fiction winner

Baron Wenckheim’s Homecoming translated by Ottilie Mulzet & László Krasznahorkai & read-alikes

Young people’s literature winner

1919 The Year That Changed America by Martin W. Sandler & read-alikes

Stay current on news and new arrivals.